Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
9 novembre 2010 2 09 /11 /novembre /2010 17:18

2008-09-24 degaulle 0183Today marks the 40th anniversary of Charles de Gaulle's death, and there was a commemoration ceremony at his family home in Colombé les Deux Eglises, just a short drive from our village. You can visit his home and a museum which was recently opened nearby. I'll never forget my father's first visit. Upon seeing the memorial (photo)he quoted Churchill "Everyone has their cross to bear, mine is the Cross of Lorraine". I guess it's common knowledge that the two statesmen did not get along very well, but I'd never heard the quote. As it turns out, apparently the remark was actually made by General Spears, Churchill's envoy to France. I still think of it every time I visit Colombé....

Comme vous n'êtes pas sans savoir, aujourd'hui marque le 40ème anniversaire de la mort du Général de Gaule. La Boisserie, ainsi qu'un nouveau musée, se trouve à 50 kms de notre village, et la visite s'impose. Je n'oublierai jamais mon père, venant de Chicago et voyant le mémorial pour la première fois, citant Churchill "tout le monde droit porter sa croix, la mienne est la croix de Lorraine" faisant référence aux différents entre les deux grands hommes. En tout cas, j'y pense à chaque fois que je rends visite.....!

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

Profil

  • Jennifer Fluteau
  • Originaire de Chicago, je vis et travaille avec mon mari Thierry dans notre domaine en Champagne

_Originally from Chicago, I now live in Champagne and work with my husband Thierry in our vineyards and cellar.
  • Originaire de Chicago, je vis et travaille avec mon mari Thierry dans notre domaine en Champagne _Originally from Chicago, I now live in Champagne and work with my husband Thierry in our vineyards and cellar.

Archives