Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
14 juin 2012 4 14 /06 /juin /2012 09:45

I just read that an old family estate in Champagne was recently sold to an American  couple. One would think I 'd be happy to see my fellow countrymen invest in Champagne, but frankly I don't know what to think. Recently we've been hearing of more and more Chinese investors buying chateaux in Bordeaux or Burgundy. Is this a good thing? Ofcourse it can be good for the local economy to see more foreign tourists, but will these new owners be as committed to their holdings as the original French land owners? Does this mean we will no longer see claims of wineries stayng in the family over several generations?  Does it matter? If I listen to my heart, the answer is yes, yes and yes ! I was not born here, yet somehow I am committed to passing on a legacy that Thierry's ancestors entrusted us with. Investors come and go, families (if they are lucky and able) stay and are passionate and proud about continuing their heritage. If Champagne loses this, will it not risk losing its soul ?

 

Yet I wish these Americans well in their new adventure - it should be interesting to see how they navigate all the ins and outs of the French system and the  rules and regulations of the champagne business.....but that is another story !

 

Je viens de lire qu'un couple d'Americains a récemment acheté une vieille maison de champagne. Je devrias réjouir de voir mes compatriotes investir en Champagne, cependant cette nouvelle me perturbe. On peut lire aussi dans la presse que plusieurs chateaux en Bordeau et Bourgogne ont été acheté par des investisseurs Chinois. Cela peut être une bonne chose pour l'économie locale, mais à force de voir le vignoble français  vendus aux financiers, ne risque-t-on pas de perdre un certain heritage? Les investisseurs vont et viennent au grès des vents des marchés, mais les familles de vigneron, s'ils ont de la chance et de la volonté, s'attachent à leur terroirs et les font fructifier par passion et par respect pour leurs ancêtres.

 

Toujours est-il que je souhaite bonne chance et bon courage à ces Americains dans leur nouvelle aventure champenois.

 

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

Profil

  • Jennifer Fluteau
  • Originaire de Chicago, je vis et travaille avec mon mari Thierry dans notre domaine en Champagne

_Originally from Chicago, I now live in Champagne and work with my husband Thierry in our vineyards and cellar.
  • Originaire de Chicago, je vis et travaille avec mon mari Thierry dans notre domaine en Champagne _Originally from Chicago, I now live in Champagne and work with my husband Thierry in our vineyards and cellar.

Archives